ERA Ray Hall Spirit of ERA Award

ERA Ray Hall Spirit of ERA Award

Why and how was the award established?

In early 2004, when told that a special event was being planned to salute his retirement after 40+ years as ERA’s executive vice president and CEO, Ray Hall had only one stipulation. He asked that proceeds of the event (which became “Au RAYvoir!”) be used to create an award that would recognize individuals who exemplify the “Spirit of ERA” through their commitment to serving and advancing the professional field sales (rep) function.

Who can submit nominations?

Any ERA chapter, marketing group or executive committee member can submit one or more nominations.

Who can be nominated?

Any individual who has made significant contributions to promoting, protecting and improving the professional field sales (rep) function. Current or past membership in ERA is required. Nominees who are not selected for an award in one year can be re-nominated in subsequent years.

What are the award criteria?

“Significant contributions” can include activities on the local, national and/or international level — within or beyond a company, territory, marketplace, the electronics industries, ERA and/or its affiliated organizations. Nominees should be those who have consistently and unselfishly served and advanced the rep function.

What is the nomination process?

Nominations for 2019 are due no later than JAN. 11, 2020. Nominations are to be submitted by completing an online, seven-question survey form. To access the form, go to

Who will evaluate the nominations and select the award recipient?

The judges will include previous award recipients.

When will the awards be announced?

The award recipient will be notified in late January 2020. The award will be announced in an ERA press release and in The Representor, and will be presented at the 2020 ERA 51st  Conference, scheduled Feb. 23-25, 2020, in Austin, Texas.

What does the award include?

The award recipient will be given a full scholarship to attend the 2020 ERA 51st Conference. The scholarship is valued at more than $1,300 and covers the conference registration fee, hotel accommodations for two nights, the optional theme party and a $350 allowance for travel and transportation.

To whom should questions be directed?

Please contact Karin Derkacz at: phone: 312-419-1432; email:

Ray Hall Spirit Award Winners:

Dave Norris (New England) 2018
Chuck Tanzola, CPMR (Empire State) 2017
Dan Parks, CPMR
(Southern California) 2016
Tom Shanahan, ERA 2015
Bob Evans, CPMR (Chicagoland-Wisconsin) 2014
Bob Walsh, CPMR (New England) 2013
Bill Herold, (Southern California) 2012
Carol Cohen, (Indiana/Kentucky) 2011
Kathie Cahill, CPMR, (Empire State) 2009
Paul Nielsen, CPMR (Chicagoland) 2008
Bruce Scoggin, CPMR (Carolinas) 2007
Mark Conley (Northern California) 2006
Mark Motsinger, CPMR (Carolinas) 2005

Powered by WishList Member - Membership Software